In Danger of Being Sentimental.

Writing a personal statement is difficult. Realising that i can’t revert to my usual sarcastic dry-humoured self with a touch of awkwardness is hard. Where is my fall-back? Why can i not get across my goofy lovable self. Part of this massive endeavor which we call growing up is straying away from our comfort zone in favour of expanding our knowledge and horizons. Quite simply- growing up is difficult. Staying awake not because you want to watch that last episode of Dexter but because you need to finish your coursework deadline, or your boyfriend is feeling down about his future, or your dog wont stop pawing at the door despite your best attempts to make him love you. Wait what?.. The truth is that as i grow up and i get more comfortable in my own skin, there is more growing up to be done. It’s like physically growing up is a metaphor for emotionally doing so. I have come to the sudden realisation that my 17 years 9 months and 28 days on this earth isn’t as much as I thought it was however i am already expected to make all those decisions that will stay with me for the rest of my life and that’s terrifying. But, i take solace in the fact that I- like so many other teenagers coming out of that ‘een‘ stage (be it seventeen eighteen or nineteen) are surrounded by people that love them and are here to cushion the hard reality of life and getting older. I guess i’m just posting to remind those people that i appreciate what they do;be they teacher or parent, friend or novio.

Many thanks 🙂

2 thoughts on “In Danger of Being Sentimental.

  1. ‘When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.’

    Mark Twain probably never said this but it always makes me smile. The fact that you are conscious of the efforts those around you make to cushion your transition to adulthood and the inevitable independence that comes with it shows how far you have come down that road already.

    You are coming to a pivotal time in your life and of course it is scary. But you sound like a sensible young woman who will weigh her options carefully and talk them through with the people you trust before making what is ultimately your decision to make.

    When I look back on my life it is not so much the things I did that I regret, but the things I didn’t. Be brave, and believe in yourself as those around you believe in you. When opportunity comes knocking (as it surely will) grab it with both hands. The greatest thing about being young is you have time to make a few mistakes.

    You have an amazing life ahead of you, of that I have no doubt. Just sit back, buckle-up and enjoy the ride. 🙂

Leave a Reply

